2017 Summer Surf Girl Winners

2017 Summer Surf Girl Winners

• Summer Surf Girl winner Shelley Roberts from Palm Beach SLSC

• Summer Surf Girl runner up Monica Wilkie from Mermaid Beach AEME SLSC

• Innovation Award winner Shelley Roberts Palm Beach SLSC

• Highest fundraiser Jo Morgan Ayr SLSC ($66 126)

• Overall the 2017 Summer Surf Girls raised $410 419

The Gold Coast’s Shelley Roberts and Monica Wilkie were rewarded for their twelve months of hard work by being named the 2017 Summer Surf Girl winner and runner up respectively.

Shelley Roberts was named the 2017 Summer Surf Girl winner and will see her act as ambassador for Surf Life Saving Queensland (SLSQ) for the next year.

“I am stunned and thrilled and shocked and beyond excited” she said.

“This year has been incredibly rewarding and incredibly trying, but I have loved it and its all been worth it.”

It has been an incredibly busy year for Ms. Roberts as she juggled the commitments of being Palm Beach’s Summer Surf Girl along with her full time job as a research fellow at Griffith University while patrolling at Palm Beach on the weekends.

“This program means a lot to me, I had an epiphany a last year, that I realised there is more I could do for my club and I had a lot to offer. So I signed up for Summer Surf Girl and since then have put in at least 10-20 hours a week working on different programs, events, I am so pleased it has paid off.” Ms. Roberts said.

“I can’t wait for the year ahead, there is a lot I want to be able to do to promote the Summer Surf Girl program, it is a leadership and development program and I want to spread the word on how much lifesaving does for the community.”

Along with being an SLSQ ambassador the next twelve months, Ms. Roberts will be driving away in a brand new Holden Spark thanks to Zupps Mt Gravatt.

SLSQ chief operating officer and chairman of the judging panel George Hill said this year’s winner would be an exceptional role model and ambassador to SLSQ.

“Shelley demonstrated incredible lifesaving skills. Her CPR and rescue skills were of the highest standard. Along with that she demonstrated that she has an unparalleled commitment to her club and her community.”

“In addition what we noted was the manner she conducted herself in throughout judging week but also throughout her entire campaign, was of the highest standard” he said.

“In saying that though, it was far from an easy decision. I must also praise our runner up Monica Wilkie. Monica also demonstrated a huge amount of skill in her beach knowledge and rescue techniques and I applaud all her enthusiasm and endless motivation she contributed to the campaign.”

Shelley Roberts was also the recipient for the innovation award. The innovation award was given to Ms. Roberts due to her overall strategic view of long term planning for the benefits for her club.

“Shelley really invested her time and energy into creating a long term plan for her club and its members. Her innovative approach focussed on; member engagement by integrating the importance of history and tradition to motivate and inspire the next generation within the club itself.” Mr. Hill said.

The award for highest fundraiser went to Jo Morgan from Ayr SLSC who raised an incredible $66.126.

Over the last 12 months Ms. Morgan aimed to hold an event every month. They ranged from raffles, to golf days, rowing events and quirkier more unusual events like dodgeball and table tennis competitions and the “Take the Floor” event which has become quite iconic in Ayr.

Judging for the title of Summer Surf Girl included:

• Surf rescue beach patrol set up/water safety (board/tube rescue and CPR demonstration)
• Community education presentations to multicultural school students
• Individual interviews with judging panel
• Final judging presentation speeches and content
• Entrant persona and working as part of a team

2017 Summer Surf Girl entrants:

• Kelsie Ross- Etty Bay SLSC

• Jo Morgan – Ayr SLSC

• Elise Lambert- Mackay SLSC
• Gemma Hendrickson – Bundaberg SLSC
• Elizna Smit- Rainbow Beach SLSC

• Tazma Marris-Whiteley- Coolum SLSC
• Darcey Starr-Thomas- Maroochydore SLSC
• Selene Wootton – Bribie Island SLSC
• Monica Wilkie – Mermaid Beach AEME SLSC
• Emily Sparke- Nobbys Beach SLSC
• Nathalie Pavlides- Tallebudgera SLSC
• Ashleigh Haines- Pacific SLSC
• Shelley Roberts- Palm Beach SLSC

Recent Posts