Big names atop of Ocean Assault leader board

Queensland’s surf sports elite have staked their claim in this year’s Ocean Assault series, with many familiar faces perched at the top of the leader board after the first two rounds.

The series, which returns to the sporting calendar after a five year hiatus, will see some of Australia’s top beach and ocean athletes in the open and under-17 age categories compete across three rounds this summer in a bid to qualify for the series final on Sunday 7 February.

The action kicked off with two days of tough racing earlier this month with some of the sport’s biggest names competing.

After two rounds of competition, Mooloolaba’s Matt Poole currently leads the Open Ironman category ahead of Northcliffe club-mates Tanyn Lyndon and Shannon Eckstein. In the women, reigning Queensland ironwoman champion Jordan Mercer sits atop of the leader board ahead of Emma Dick (Mermaid Beach) and Brodie Moire (North Burleigh).

Evergreen sprinter Simon Harris leads the open male beach flags, while Chanel Hickman has started her summer campaign with a bang to lead the open female flags.

To view full results, please click here.

Recent Posts