Cyclones go for 10 in a row at Interstate Champs

The Queensland Cyclones will be out to seal a decade of dominance when they line up at this month’s Interstate IRB Championships in search of a 10th straight title at the event.

The ‘state vs state’ format will see the country’s top IRB crews face off at Thirroul Beach for bragging rights and Interstate glory.

SLSQ sports development coordinator Matthew Palmer said the 2018 team, announced this week, was more than capable of matching it with the country’s best.

“It’s a really strong team with a lot of experience among the ranks, and it’s an exciting opportunity for them to go head-to-head against the best IRB crews from across Australia,” he said.

“Queensland has an exceptional record when it comes to IRB racing; we’ve won the past nine Interstate Championships, which is a phenomenal effort, and we obviously want to keep that streak going as long as we can.

“It’s a wonderful honour to represent your state in any sport, and I’m sure the competitors we’ve selected will be doing everything they can to help deliver Queensland a 10th straight Interstate title.

“On behalf of SLSQ, congratulations to all those who were selected and best of luck for this year’s championships,” Mr Palmer said.

The 2018 Interstate IRB Championships will be held at Thirroul Beach in NSW on13 July 2018 as a lead-in to the Australian Championships that weekend.

2018 Queensland Cyclones IRB Team:

  • Samantha Thornton (Alexandra Headland)
  • Sonita Leng-Cole (Alexandra Headland)
  • Lauren Cannon (Alexandra Headland)
  • Emma Partington (Alexandra Headland)
  • Mikaela Rawlings (North Burleigh)
  • Maddie Phillips (North Burleigh)
  • Brooke Ward (North Burleigh)
  • Leah Nelson (North Burleigh)
  • Ben Domeracki (Kirra)
  • Isaac Nation (Kirra)
  • Mark Sheldrick (Kirra)
  • Josh Clemson (Kirra)
  • Curtis Sealy (Kurrawa)
  • Marten Schumacher (Kurrawa)
  • Jonathon Hagen (Kurrawa)
  • Jack Lindsay (Kurrawa)
  • Harrison Sheppard (Kirra)
  • Belinda McAuliffe (Kirra)
  • Team Manager – Bronwyn Champness (Alexandra Headlands)
  • Assistant Team Manager – Courtney Wilson (Broadbeach)
  • Patient Co-ordinator – Andrew McAuliffe (Kirra)
  • Team coach – Adam Barbour (North Burleigh)


2018 Queensland Cyclones Development Team

  • Te’a Peluso (Kirra)
  • Shiloh Young (Kirra)
  • Sophie Clemson (Kirra)
  • Bailey Nash (Kirra)
  • Shayna Cassone (Kirra)
  • Haidee Psaltis (Kirra)
  • Jodie Clark (Broadbeach)
  • Demi Meredith (Broadbeach)
  • Rizu Sawaki (Broadbeach)
  • Robbie Fisher (Kurrawa)
  • Liam Christie (Kurrawa)
  • Connor Buhk (Alexandra Headland)
  • Mitchell Pickering (Alexandra Headland)
  • Zak Henwood (Miami)
  • Harrison Henwood (Miami)
  • Scott Ward (North Burleigh)
  • Taylor Rawlings (North Burleigh)
  • Leah Sheldrick (Kirra)
  • Team Manager – Anthony Cassone (Kirra)
  • Assistant Team Manager – Scott Wheeler (Kurrawa)
  • Team Coach – Scott Stephenson (Point Lookout)

Recent Posts