Cyclones go for gold at Interstate Champs

The Queensland Cyclones will go for gold when they hit the surf and sand to contest the Interstate Championships at Newport Beach on Thursday, 24 January.

The 24-strong squad, featuring the likes of Maddy Dunn, Lani Pallister, Elizabeth Forsyth, Mitch Coombes and TJ Hendy, will take on Australia’s best in the ‘state vs state’ format later this month.

SLSQ sports manager Stuart Hogben is confident the team can go one better than last year’s second-place finish behind New South Wales.

“There’s always something special about representing your state and, after finishing second last year, I know the guys and girls will be keen to get stuck in and hopefully bring that Interstate trophy back to Queensland,” he said.

“We’ve picked a really strong squad this year, and it’s a great mix of experienced campaigners and emerging athletes.

“When you look at the team we’ve selected, there’s not really a weakness there, which says a lot about the strength and depth of surf sports in Queensland at the moment.

“It’s a really exciting opportunity for them to go head-to-head against some of the best athletes across Australia and hopefully stamp Queensland as the top lifesaving state in the country,” he said.

Congratulations to the 2018 Queensland Cyclones team:


Youth Team:

  • Tiarnee Massie – Maroochydore SLSC
  • Electra Outram – Noosa Heads SLSC
  • Tayla Halliday – Alexandra Headland SLSC
  • Grace Gurr – Northcliffe SLSC
  • Ruby Nolan – Sunshine Beach SLSC
  • Taylor Stickler – Kurrawa SLSC
  • Ky Kinsela – Currumbin SLSC
  • Cooper Williams – Alexandra Headland SLSC
  • Matthew Palmer – Maroochydore SLSC
  • Adam Palmer – Maroochydore SLSC
  • Sam Frost – Currumbin SLSC
  • Kai Thompson – Noosa Heads SLSC


Open Team:

  • Tiarrn Raymond – Alexandra Headland
  • Maddy Dunn – Northcliffe
  • Lani Pallister – Alexandra Headland
  • Lucinda Kelly – Alexandra Headland
  • Hannah Sculley – Northcliffe
  • Elizabeth Forsyth – Currumbin
  • James Lacy – Mermaid Beach
  • Lucas Allan – Northcliffe
  • Mitch Coombes – Northcliffe
  • TJ Hendy – Surfers Paradise
  • Corey Fletcher – Currumbin
  • Kieran Gordon – Currumbin


Team Management:

  • Coach, Darren Mercer – Noosa Heads SLSC
  • Assistant Coach, Jack Hansen – Alexandra Headland SLSC
  • Beach Coach, Brett Robinson – Currumbin SLSC
  • Team Manager, Stephen Fry – Northcliffe SLSC
  • Assistant Team Manager, Cameron Dixon – Noosa Heads SLSC
  • Medical, Josh Carter

Recent Posts