Queensland Cyclones out for more gold at Interstate Champs

The Queensland Cyclones will be hoping to continue their recent dominance at Surf Life Saving Australia’s Interstate Championships later this month, where they’ll line up in search of an eighth consecutive title.

The team was announced following last week’s Queensland IRB Championships and includes 16 members from across North Burleigh, Kirra, and Dicky Beach Surf Life Saving Clubs.

They will head south to compete against some of the country’s best IRB crews at Mollymook SLSC on Friday, 22 July 2016.

SLSQ sports manager Stuart Hogben said the squad was quietly confident of a strong result.

“We’ve had some great success at the Interstate Championships in recent years, and I’m sure everyone’s eager to get down there and put in a good performance,” he said.

“There’s already been some really good racing this season through the Ocean Roar Series and the Queensland Championships, and we have every confidence the team we’ve chosen will do us proud and give themselves every opportunity to come away with another win.

“It’s a wonderful achievement to represent your state, and I’d like to congratulate all competitors and team managers for their selection in this year’s squad,” he said.

This season has already seen Queensland’s ocean team take out its respective Interstate Championships, before the state surf boat team finished third. A strong performance by the IRB Cyclones will go a long way towards helping SLSQ defend the Alan B Whelpton AP Perpetual Shield, awarded to the best performing state each year.

In addition to the Queensland Cyclones team, a development team has also been selected, featuring 18 athletes from a variety of clubs. While the team will compete at the Interstate Championships, their points tally won’t contribute to the overall score.

The 2016 IRB Interstate Championships will be held at Mollymook SLSC on Friday, 22 July 2016, followed by the Australian IRB Championships that weekend (23-24 July).

2016 Queensland Cyclones IRB Team:

  • Andy Kelkoven (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Tim Watene (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Jack Watson (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Brendon Phillips (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Ben Mackie (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Joel Di Tripani (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Jonathan Hagan (Point Lookout SLSC)
  • Kane Brady (Point Lookout SLSC)
  • Ben Domeraki (Kirra SLSC)
  • Isac Nation (Kirra SLSC)
  • Kate Czerny (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Sarah Kiely (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Mikaela Rawlings (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Kaitlyn Brown (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Caitlyn Knight (Dicky Beach SLSC)
  • Jessica Simpson (Dicky Beach SLSC)
  • Manager: Bronwyn Champness (Alexandra Headlands SLSC)
  • Assistant Manager: Cathie Palmer (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Coach: Adam Barbour (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Patient Coordinator: Andrew McAuliffe (Kirra SLSC)

Queensland Development IRB Team:

  • Harrison Henwood (Miami SLSC)
  • Zachary Henwood (Miami SLSC)
  • Kahli Henwood (Miami SLSC)
  • Curtis Sealy (Mermaid Beach SLSC)
  • Michael Mills (Mermaid Beach SLSC)
  • Shiloh-Grace Young (Mermaid Beach SLSC)
  • Patrick Hagan (Point Lookout SLSC)
  • Jordan Roberts (Point Lookout SLSC)
  • Ben Di Tripani (Point Lookout SLSC)
  • Brooke Ward (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Maddie Phillips (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Mekayla Date (North Burleigh SLSC)
  • Sarah Sammut (Point Lookout SLSC)
  • Bailie Nash (Point Lookout SLSC)
  • Kara Brier (Point Lookout SLSC)
  • Katie Watts (Kurrawa SLSC)
  • Reserve : Isabella Coyle (Kurrawa SLSC)
  • Reserve : Ben Jackson (Kurrawa SLSC)
  • Team Management: Natasha Dennis (Point Lookout SLSC)
  • Team Management: Warren Foxwell (Coolum SLSC)
  • Team Management: Scott Stephenson (Point Lookout SLSC)
  • Team Management: Neil Conaghan (Kurrawa SLSC)

Recent Posts